New Releases May 2013

Hoyle Road

I have been a big fan of Pedestrian since hearing some of their stuff on Giles Peterson’s Brownswood Recordings last year. This new release “Hoyle Road” is every bit as good as previous tracks from them and is one of the best things I’ve heard from them for a while. This track in its original form is a perfect combination of beautiful vocals mixed with a sublimely atmospheric instrumental. This is the kind of track that would sound amazing just after sunset at Café Mambo. There are some great remixes on the package which come from Falty DL, SpectraSoul, and Benjamin Damage and Doc Daneeka – all great mixes but the original wins in my opinion.

Moments In Time EP

This is one of the best down-tempo records I have heard for a year and it is no surprise coming from the very talented Alan Braxe. Think Air meets Sebastian Tellier. Say no more, it’s just that good – this cannot be missed. The best track for me is “Time Machine (With The Spimes)” in its original form. Remixes come from DJ Falcon, Mr Gonzo and Gigamesh. The next original track from the package is called “Voices”, a similar sound palate but more of a mid-tempo groover than a down-tempo sunset moment. The last track is Daydreaming – also very good indeed.

The Alezby Inn Remixes

The 2012 debut album ‘EFUNK’ from Boston duo Soul Clap entered into unchartered territory, blowing apart the “dance” song format with their freaky sleazy surreal antics, ‘EFUNK’ fused the entirety of Soul Clap’s past musical influence with super fresh execution. Here Wolf + Lamb Music further explores the debut by delivering a striking collection of remixes for three of the stand out tracks. With ‘The Alezby Inn’ featuring The Genevan Heathen, a cover of legendary west- coast electro don Egyptian Lover, Soul Clap worked it with spaced out futurism whilst staying true to the mischievous charm of the original. Remixes come from Nick Monaco, as well as the Egyptian Lover remix. There is also a great remix of “Need Your Loving” featuring Mel Blatt by John Camp and finally “Ecstasy” also featuring Mel Blatt gets worked over by Night Plane. A great collection of tracks not to be missed

Halcyon EP

One of my favorite labels with a great four track EP comes from Cape Town’s Terrence Pearce. Terrence is a DJ/Producer from Durban now residing in South Africa’s electronic hub Cape Town where he is somewhat a local hero on the scene. The lead track is called “Halcyon” – a fantastic chunky deep house track that oozes soul. Kings & Queens is the second track and has a slightly deeper and more raw feel to it. “Poise” is my least favourite of the four but nevertheless a solid track and then finally “Up N Down” has a great vibe with its bumpy bass and dreamy strings.

Moonlight Shadow EP

Continuing their quest towards the futuristic and experimental electronic horizon, the ever evolving and never compromising Visionquest are back, taking a journey into the deep and dubby, presenting the ‘Moonlight Shadow EP’ – three beautifully distinguished tracks from Germany’s finest, Seidensticker & Salour. The lead track “Moonlight Shadow” takes us on a journey into a sublimely deep yet emotively eerie world with thick dubby pads. Next is “To Real Time” – for me the best track on the EP. “Dub To Dub” is the final track, the weakest of the three. Overall, a nice EP.

All reviews written by Pete Gooding